flow it, show it

27 Jun

My baby danced on the Broaway stage.

To be fair, she did so in utero.

When I was 7 weeks pregnant, my husband and I saw the Broadway revival of “Hair” and had an absolute blast dancing on stage with the Tribe.

It probably does not come as much of a surprise that I am extremely superstitious. Needless to say, I kept my pregnancy a secret from nearly everyone for the first trimester. However, something about the unbridled love on stage that day made me break my code of silence and tell a few of the sweaty, radiant hippies that this was my baby’s first Broadway show as I pointed to my barely-bulging-belly.

They kissed me. They blessed me. They sweat on me. I couldn’t have been more thrilled.

Fast forward through the Fall.

It was Thanksgiving and I was about 19 weeks pregnant.

My husband and I stayed in bed all morning, snuggled up with pancakes and our two dogs, as we flipped back and forth through the parades on TV.

Low and behold, my hippies were performing at the Parade.

They started to sing and my baby had started to kick.

Now, I had felt the baby kicking for a few weeks at that point. Well, I guess it was less like kicking and more like a butterfly’s wing flapping, but I was clearly feeling inside my blossoming belly.

The feelings would come sporadically and never cease to surprise me.

I would feel that most special feeling a few times a week, but I was the only one. However, on that dreary Thanksgiving morning, in our crowded-un-made bed, my husband felt the baby kick for the first time.

It was like we were both shocked by this tiny, amazing electrical charge.

She kicked to Hair. What can I say, girl after my own heart.

Now, in true hippie spirit, I have to say, from the bottom of my heart, that I can’t wait to see my daughter grow up to be anything that she wants to be. Whoever she is, whatever she wants to do, I just look forward to being along for the ride.

However, I am not going to lie. Few things would make me happier than seeing her back up on  the Broadway stage some day. And I can smile in knowing that she has already gotten a mighty fine start.

7 Responses to “flow it, show it”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. peak-a-boo, i’ll-cover-you « mommy, ever after - September 6, 2010

    […] year ago, today, I danced with The Tribe at […]

  2. The Magnificent 7 « mommy, ever after - November 18, 2010

    […] I was 7 weeks pregnant with you, we danced on-stage at Hair together, at your very first Broadway show. We celebrated love and tolerance and sunshine and peace, and I […]

  3. and giving thanks « mommy, ever after - November 25, 2010

    […] remembering this day last year, […]

  4. Give me a head with hair « mommy, ever after - February 25, 2011

    […] Flow it, show it, […]

  5. I just had the best time of my life « mommy, ever after - March 10, 2011

    […] Hair. […]

  6. About Mommy « mommy, ever after - October 28, 2011

    […] In my house, we have nightly dance parties, […]

  7. #febphotoaday/8 « mommy, ever after - February 8, 2012

    […] this for my daughter’s nursery while she was still in the belly; when she was still twinkle. Like […]

Leave a comment