la Torá

25 Nov

At the very end of my semester in Barcelona, I decided to check out a tourist attraction that was very close to my apartment.

Poble Espanyol, as it is called by Americans, is this quaint little town centered around an architectural museum. My boyfriend and I walked around and shopped in the kitschy little stores with the made-to-look-old facades. But I did make one purchase there, a beautiful, fabric jewelry holder.

Since we moved into our new home almost two years ago, I set up my daughter’s “Big Girl” room with more sophisticated accents than she had in her nursery. I was happy to gift her with this Spanish jewelry holder, on which she could hold her necklaces, but costume and otherwise.

Fast forward 23 months to this morning. My daughter walked into my room with the dramatic flair that only she possesses.

“Oh mom!” she began. “Thank you so much for my Torah! It is the most beautiful Torah I have ever seen!”

And she handed this to me:

photo-15

There are no words.

Leave a Reply

