“Oh, look out you rock ‘n rollers”

26 Feb

 

There were a lot of changes–

a lot of new

in the land of mom this week.

Having a lot to be thankful for

also comes with some major adjustments.

“For everything you have missed, you have gained something else, and for everything you gain, you lose something else.”

I didn’t write that.

Ralph Waldo Emerson did.

And, he’s right.

Obviously.

He’s Ralph Waldo Emerson,

and my 11th grade English teacher,

my favorite teacher of all time,

told me so.

So, we’re hanging in there.

And trying to adapt to new schedules,

new challenges,

some new luxuries

and the new sacrifices that come with them.

And, when I’ve felt any doubts,

I’ve been reminded of my strength;

I have been followed, this week, by a small fleet of feathers,

and one strategically placed lucky penny.

I know we’ll be all right.

“These changes are exciting.”

I didn’t write that.

My husband did.

And he’s right.

Obviously.

He’s my husband.

He has four years on me, so he must know at least one thing I have yet to learn.

Either way,

these changes,

they are a’happenin’ whether I like them or not

(which I do,

and don’t),

so I might as well cope.

So,  I guess it’s time for me to “turn and face the strange”.

I didn’t write that.

David Bowie did.

And, he’s right.

Obviously.

He’s the man.

So strange,

here I come.

One Response to ““Oh, look out you rock ‘n rollers””

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. On family dinner. « mommy, ever after - April 6, 2011

    […] as they have become a bit more infrequent. Hectic schedules, new commitments, and many other new ch-ch-chaaaanges have made our family dinners a bit more hard to come […]

Leave a Reply

