if growing up means it would be beneath my dignity to climb a tree, I’ll never grow up, not me.

16 Jul

This evening, my best friend, let’s call her J, sent me this mobile photo

with the following caption:

“Pinata for baby’s future princess bday parties!”

I, of course, responded with, “OMG!!!!! LOVE it!! Well, Sunday is her 3 month bday–let’s throw a celebration!”

This is the exact conversation that followed:

J: “OMG 3 months already wowwwww i can’t believe it! Just yesterday it was her 3 DAY Bday!!!!!!”

Me: “You’re telling me!!! OK, seriously though, for our bbq in a few weeks, can we get a pinata?”

J:”Best idea ever!!!!!!!!!”

And this, my friends, is when I realize that I may talk the mommy talk, and walk the mommy walk,

but I am so not even close to being a grown-up.

And, let me just add, that this is also when I realize that my daughter is so lucky to have the most fun group of aunts and uncles in the entire world.

I’m just sayin’.

I may still be nothing more than a big kid, posing as a grown-up parent,

But, it’s kind of nice, this way.

My daughter and I can grow up together.

I can teach her how in our family, we celebrate a birthday each month, even as we get older.

I can teach her that you don’t need a special occasion to have a pinata.

I can teach her that a birthday is not a birthday without massive amounts of sweets.

And, most importantly, I can teach her that there are some friends who are more like family, and how that is the sweetest treat of all.

8 Responses to “if growing up means it would be beneath my dignity to climb a tree, I’ll never grow up, not me.”

  1. Kristin July 17, 2010 at 10:40 am #

    I’m convinced we’re all just big kids posing as grown-ups. 🙂 This post made me smile, thank you.

    Happy 3-month bday EVE-day to your special leetle one!

    • mommyeverafter July 17, 2010 at 10:47 am #

      Thank you so! Time to break out the party hats and pinatas!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Happy Birthday to Us « mommy, ever after - July 17, 2010

    […] It may not seem like much, but in this family, we will use any excuse to celebrate. […]

  2. This Weekend! « mommy, ever after - August 5, 2010

    […] thinking “My Super Sweet 16 (weeks) Princess Style Pinata […]

  3. mommy, ever after - August 18, 2010

    […] I may have also mentioned a time or two before, this family will use any excuse to celebrate a birthday of any […]

  4. i’m a party girl, in my party world « mommy, ever after - September 13, 2010

    […] You know how we feel about our pinatas. […]

  5. The Princess and the Jog « mommy, ever after - November 20, 2010

    […] her magenta sippy cup does match perfectly with the new Princess Silly Band he is sporting, after J found it and brought it to our Shabbat dinner last […]

  6. Idle Idol « mommy, ever after - November 22, 2010

    […] So I turned to J. […]

Leave a Reply

